Thursday, July 18, 2024
Erin's Pavilion at Southwind Park in Springfield
5:30 p.m. Cocktail Hour
6:30 p.m. Dinner
7:00 p.m. ATHENA Leadership Award Presentation

Register Now

Tickets: $100 early bird, $115 after July 5
Registration deadline is Thursday, July 11
RSVP is required as this is a plated dinner (NO walk-ins will be accepted)

Congratulations to the 2024 ATHENA Nominees!

Invitation and menu


Register Now


Thank you to our event sponsors!

2023 Sponsors

Police Benevolent logo

INTERESTED IN BECOMING AN ATHENA SPONSOR? Click below for more information.



2023 Athena RecipientCongratulations to our 2023 ATHENA Leadership Award recipient Dr. Wendi El-Amin!

On July 13, 2023 Illinois Women in Leadership recognized 9 amazing women in our community nominated for the 2023 ATHENA Leadership Award. We are pleased to honor these women who have achieved professional excellence, contribute their time and energy to improve their community, and actively assist women in realizing their full leadership potential.

 The ATHENA Leadership Award is presented to an individual who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. 



The ATHENA Leadership Award® was inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment -- qualities embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model®. The Award is unique in both scope (local, national and international) and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based. The ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to a woman or man who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. Since the program’s inception in 1982, more than 7,000 exemplary leaders in over 500 communities have received the prestigious ATHENA Award in the United States, Bermuda, Canada, China, Greece, India, Russia, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Leadership Award® Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives.
ATHENA Leadership Award Nominees must meet each of the following criteria:

• Demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession
• Provide valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in their community
• Actively assist others, particularly women, in achieving their full leadership potential
• Help to facilitate Athena’s mission and goals by actively engaging in meaningful ways to advance diversity, equity and inclusion in their professional and personal lives
• Reside in Sangamon or surrounding counties

Questions?  Please contact [email protected]

Past ATHENA Leadership Award®  Recipients
2023 - Dr. Wendi El-Amin
2022 - Dr. Diane Rutledge
2021 - Dr. Diane Hillard-Sembell
2020 - Postponed (COVID-19)
2019 - Dr. Tanya DeSanto
2018 - Karen Hasara
2017 - Margaret Ann Jessup
2016 - Sheila Feipel
2015 - Grace Luttrell Nanavati 
2014 - Dr. Linda Jones & Kim Leistner (tie)
2013 - Gail Lorenzini 
2012 - Darlene Weaver 
2011 - Sarah Mackey 
2010 - Deb Shultz 
2009 - Evelyn Brandt Thomas 
2008 - Lisa Pierce 
2007 - Linda Dillon 
2006 - Alison Novak 
2005 - Amy Hagen 
2004 - Cindy Davis 
2003 - Judith Teller 
2002 - Sue Myerscough 
2001 - Linda Waldron 
2000 - L. Gay Davidson 
1999 - Desiree Logsdon

Questions about the ATHENA Leadership Award? Please contact [email protected].

*IWIL is unable to provide refunds. If you cannot attend an event for which you’ve registered, we encourage you to send someone in your place. Simply have your guest indicate at the check-in table that s/he is your substitute. We appreciate your understanding!